Our People

Ours is a friendly, creative and collaborative open plan office with a talented team of nine who are able to provide the full range of architectural services from feasibility through construction to completion. Every member of our team makes a significant contribution to our developments and the team can provide expertise in BIM; Conservation; Interior Design; Environmental Design; Graphical Representation and Virtual Reality.

We are passionate about what we do and live up to our mission statement:

‘a team driven by design excellence and client satisfaction’ 
WL_Logo.jpg
Company Logo.jpg
csp acoustics logo.jpg

Part of the Wellwood Leslie Group

The Wellwood Leslie Group was formed in 2016 and consists of three companies:

  • Wellwood Leslie Architects
  • CSP Acoustics
  • McLean Architects

This collaboration employs 26 people and is led by Neil Simpson, Managing Director of the Group. The Wellwood Leslie Group are an ambitious and growing business providing architectural services, interior design, space planning, conservation, sustainable design, expert witness, project management and acoustic consultancy services throughout Scotland and the UK.

Wellwood Leslie recently merged with McLean Architects in Glasgow allowing expansion of its geographic coverage across the central belt of Scotland. The business also delivers acoustic design consultancy services through CSP Acoustics, which also operates from offices in both Glasgow and Dundee.

The merger of the two architectural practices offers an enhanced, responsive service to new and existing clients by sharing collective knowledge, expertise and resources from two established centres.

Both practices have grown and developed from a rich heritage of long standing recognized businesses providing professional and technical expertise in a variety of different market sectors.

Our talented team have in-depth understanding of complex, highly serviced buildings and are familiar with the collaboration required between design team members and project stakeholders to deliver successful developments as illustrated in this document.

Key Benefits

The key benefits that we can bring to our service delivery are:

  • Capability in preparation of development appraisals and feasibility studies
  • Experience in developing a comprehensive brief
  • The ability to lead multi skilled design teams
  • Knowledge and understanding of opportunities and constraints that influence design projects
  • Expertise in negotiating with planning authorities over design proposals
  • The ability to develop robust technical solutions to meet statutory requirements
  • The skills to ensure a balance of time, cost and quality is maintained throughout the project
  • The ability to understand our Client’s priorities and ensure their aspirations are achieved or exceeded
  • The insight to deliver added value when we see an opportunity to do so

 

 
QMS ISO 9001 Badge.png
 
QMS ISO 14001 Badge.png
 
QMS OHSAS 18001 Badge.png
 

Directors

Neil Simpson BSc(Arch) B.Arch(Hons) RIAS RIBA Director neilsimpson@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Neil Simpson
BSc(Arch) B.Arch(Hons)
RIAS RIBA

Director
neilsimpson@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Craig Govan B.Arch(Hons)Dip. Arc RIAS Director craiggovan@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Craig Govan
B.Arch(Hons)Dip. Arc
RIAS

Director
craiggovan@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Janet Cameron BSc(Hons) B.Arch RIAS RIBA Director janetcameron@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Janet Cameron
BSc(Hons) B.Arch
RIAS RIBA

Director
janetcameron@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Brian Smith BSc(Arch) B.Arch RIAS RIBA Director briansmith@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Brian Smith
BSc(Arch) B.Arch
RIAS RIBA

Director
briansmith@mcleanarchitects.co.uk


Colin McNeish BSc(Hons)B.Arch FRIAS (Cons. Accred) Consultant Conservation Architect colinmcneish@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Colin McNeish
BSc(Hons)B.Arch
FRIAS (Cons. Accred)

Consultant Conservation Architect
colinmcneish@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Jonathan Bismark BSc(Hons) Architectural Assistant (Part 1) jonathanbismark@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Jonathan Bismark
BSc(Hons)

Architectural Assistant (Part 1)
jonathanbismark@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Kirsty Wilson BSc(Hons) M.Arch RIAS Architect kirstywilson@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Kirsty Wilson
BSc(Hons) M.Arch
RIAS

Architect
kirstywilson@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Nicolas Hubin BSc Architectural Assistant (Part 1) nicolashubin@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Nicolas Hubin
BSc

Architectural Assistant (Part 1)
nicolashubin@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

David Nugent HNC/NEBOSH Level 3 Senior Technician davidnugent@mcleanarchitects.co.uk  

David Nugent
HNC/NEBOSH Level 3

Senior Technician
davidnugent@mcleanarchitects.co.uk
 

Heather Gibson BSc Architectural Assistant (Part 1) heathergibson@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Heather Gibson
BSc

Architectural Assistant (Part 1)
heathergibson@mcleanarchitects.co.uk

Terri Welsh B.Arch(Hons) Architectural Assistant (Part 1) terriwelsh@mcleanarchitects.co.uk  

Terri Welsh
B.Arch(Hons)

Architectural Assistant (Part 1)
terriwelsh@mcleanarchitects.co.uk